Help Me With...

Select from list
My Residential Property
My Driver's License or Vehicle Registration
Requesting Assistance
Health Department


Select from list
My Property Valuation
Understanding My Valuation
Paying My Property Tax
Neighborhood Sales
Building Permits
Vehicle Registration - New Stickers
Vehicle Registration - New Vehicle
Drivers License - New or Renew
New Resident Vehicle Registration
Adult Protection
Child Welfare
Child Support
Child Care
Financial Assistance
Medical Assistance
Food Assistance
Register to Vote / Update Voter Registration
Upcoming Election Information
Ballot Drop Box Locations
Voter Service and Polling Centers
Birth Certificates
Community Health
Death Certificates
Environmental Health
Household Waste Management
Public Health Services


× Close
Board of County Commissioners

County Structure

Did you know that Colorado Counties are a constitutional subdivision of Colorado State government and that County boundaries, set forth in the statute, were drawn by the Colorado General Assembly?

With this in mind, Douglas County acts through its Board of Commissioners This three-member board acts, by majority vote of a quorum present, to adopt ordinances in those limited areas for which specific authority has been given by the State Legislature, and to adopt resolutions to conduct all of its other business.


The Board of Commissioners performs legislative, executive, and quasi-judicial functions and serves as the legislative, policy-making, and administrative body governing the unincorporated areas of Douglas County.

The Board appoints a County Manager who implements the policy directions of the Board and supervises and coordinates the work of the staff in the Departments under the direct control of the Board.  Apart from the County Attorney, the County Manager will have line authority over all County divisions under the Board of County Commissioners.

The County Attorney is a constitutionally prescribed County office.  By statute, the County Attorney is a position filled by appointment of the Board.  The County Attorney’s Office provides legal advice and representation for the Board. The County Attorney, with the approval of the Board, also advises and represents all other Douglas County elected officials, the County Administrator, department and division heads, and appointed commissions, boards and committees.

Other County Elected Officials

The other constitutional officers elected to four-year terms are the Assessor,  Clerk and Recorder,  Coroner,  Sheriff,  Surveyor and Treasurer

Constitutionally and statutorily, these elected offices are independent of one other and from the County Commissioners.  Their powers and duties are prescribed by state statute.

The County Commissioners have no direct authority over the other elected officials in the county, except that commissioners approve budgets for all other elected officials’ departments.

For more detail about the History of Colorado Counties, please visit the Colorado Counties Inc. website.